/* START Google Analytics Code*/ /* END of Google Analytics Code */ A home called "Parvathi": August 2012

Sunday, August 19, 2012

In Memoriam: Sri Kunigal Puttu Rao Music Festival 2012

Once again,the Sri K. Puttu Rao Music Festival in Mysore, is upon us for 2012.

Through these pages we invite all the Rasikas to join in with us at the music festivities being held at Mysore.

We present below, a calendar of events:


Thursday, August 2, 2012

Music is Man’s Ultimate Response to Creation - 2012 Sangeeta Kalanidhi Designate Trichur V. Ramachandran

Mr. K. Srikantiah and the Parvathi family express great happiness and offer felicitations and best wishes to this year’s Sangeetha Kalanidhi designate Vidwan Trichur V. Ramachandran.

The Masters weave their magic - 1972!

L to R: Palghat Raghu, Vikku Vinayakaram,
Trichur V. Ramachandran, Parur M.S. Gopalakrishnan

We have already featured a much-appreciated concert of Vid. Ramachandran held in Parvathi during the 1974 festival.

We now have pleasure in featuring a 1972 concert of his, in the company of two other Sangeetha Kalanidhis, Vid. M. S. Gopalakrishnan and Vid. Palghat R. Raghu. This concert again shows the mesmeric attraction that the GNB bani has, with its verve, tempo and highly colourful repertoire. As if in response to audience requests, Sri TVR has sung in this concert all the GNB trademark compositions, including Ragasudharasa, Darini, Radhasametha Krishna. The accompaniment of Vid. MSG, Vid. Raghu and Vid. Vinayakram make this concert truly special.

Mr. Srikantiah recalls meeting Sri TVR first in Vidushi MLV’s house, whom she introduced as training under her with the national scholarship. Sri TVR later came and performed a few times in Parvathi in various festivals.

Mr. Srikantiah turns meditative as he recalls how five generations of musicians have come and sung in this home. To name some: Maharajapuram Vishwanatha Iyer, Mysore Vasudevachar, Chowdiah, Ariyakudi, Musiri, TR Mahalingam, GNB, Alathur Bros., Madurai Mani Iyer, Semmangudi, MSS, DKP, MLV, KVN, MDR, TKR, Sathur, Somu, TVS, TVR, TRS, TSK, Lalgudi, TNS, MSG, TNK, Ramani, Doreswamy Iyengar, Emani, Chittibabu, MC, Mani Iyer, Palani, Raghu, Sivaraman, Ramabhadran, Upendran, Radha Jayalakshmi, Sikkil Sisters, Bombay Sisters, and many current stars like U Shrinivas, Mysore Nagaraj and Manjunath…the list is almost endless.

When we consider these great artistes, and the impact they had on the rasikas, we cannot but recall the famous words of India's Poet Laureate and 1974 Padmabhushan,"DVG"(D.V. Gundappa), in his 1943 opus Mankuthimmana Kagga, describing how music evokes feelings in us as our ultimate response to the wonderful creation around us:

Tune, scale and song; dance and dramatic fine art- all
Awaken from mind's slumber many moods
Expressing our innermost nature. Art is man's commentary
On the Supreme Spirit, oh Mankuthimma!

So again, our heartiest congratulations and best wishes to Vidwan Trichur Ramachandran!


Ramanavami Concert March 29, 1972

Vocal: Trichur V. Ramachandran
Violin: M. S. Gopalakrishnan
Mridangam: Palghat R. Raghu
Ghatam : T. H. Vinayakram

Song List

01.Neranammithi – Kanada Varnam – Ramnad Srinivasa Iyengar *** 02. Vinayaka Vghnanashaka-Vegavahini-Muthuswami Dikshitar ***03. Paraloka Sadhaname – Purvikalyani-Thyagaraja ***04. Ragasudharasa-Andolika-Thyagaraja ***05. Sada Palaya – Mohana – GNB *** 06. Teliyaleru Rama – Dhenuka – Thyagaraja *** 07. Darini Telisukonti – Suddha Saveri – Thyagaraja *** 08. Ananda Natesha – Todi- Ramaswamy Sivan *** 09. Paramukha melara – Suruti – Thyagaraja (also ascribed to Mannargudi Rajagopala Iyer) *** 10. Shankarabharana raga *** 11.Enduku Peddala-Shankarabharana-Thyagaraja *** 12. Himagiri Tanaye- Shuddha Dhanyasi – Muthiah Bhagavathar ***13. Sarasa sama dana – Kapi Narayani – Thyagaraja *** 14. Shloka – Hamsanandi, Dhanyasi, Begada, Kapi*** 15. Radha Mukha Kamala – Kapi – Papanasam Sivan *** 16. Radha Sametha Krishna – Mishra Yaman – Traditional *** 17. Sitakalyana Vaibhogame – Kurinji- Thyagaraja *** 18. Dhanashri Tillana – Swathi Thirunal *** 19. Mangalam ***